If you’ve been charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and had your driver’s license suspended, you should call an experienced Wyoming DUI attorney immediately so they can request a hearing to contest the suspension of your license.
Contesting the suspension of your license can achieve two things:
When someone is arrested and charged with DUI in Wyoming, police notify you on the spot that your license will be suspended for 90 days and issue you a temporary license that is good for 30 days. Once the 30 days are up, suspension of your license begins. However, even though the temporary license is good for 30 days, you only have 20 days to request a hearing to contest suspension of your license.
The temporary license you are issued includes this information, but you have to read the very fine print on the back and most people miss it. Many people assume, if they’re even aware of their right to fight the suspension, that since the temporary license is good for 30 days that must mean they have 30 days to request the hearing. Wrong! You only have 20 days. Our office gets a lot of calls from people who waited 21 to 30 days after their arrest to call us. If you’ve been arrested and charged with DUI, don’t make that mistake. The sooner you call, the more we can help you.
If police pull you over on suspicion of drunk driving, under Wyoming"s Implied Consent Law you are required to comply with their request for breath, blood or urine testing to determine your blood alcohol level. Because Wyoming is an implied consent state, which means that by choosing to drive on Wyoming roadways you are consenting to blood-alcohol testing when asked by police, refusing to comply with a request for such a test (which you have the right to do) results in automatic suspension of your driver’s license for six months. If you previously refused to take a blood-alcohol test on separate DUI offense, then your license will be suspended for 18 months instead of six. (Note that refusing more than once for the same offense because the cop asks more than once is still considered one refusal and only gets a six-month suspension if it is your first time refusing.) While having your license suspended for up to 18 months can be tough, for some people who already have multiple DUI convictions it may be in their best interest to refuse. If police allow you to, always call and consult with your attorney before submitting to or refusing a blood-alcohol test.
If police administer a blood-alcohol test and determine your blood-alcohol content is 0.08% or more, you will be arrested and charged with DUI. Just being charged with DUI results in an administrative suspension of your driver’s license for 90 days unless you successfully contest it. The suspension period begins as soon as the temporary driver’s license issued by police expires, as mentioned above. To make sure you get the point, we’ll say it again: You only have 20 days (not 30 days) to request a hearing to contest the suspension of your license. Call your attorney immediately.
Regardless of whether you are successful in fighting the administrative suspension, criminal proceedings will commence on the DUI charge. Always fight a DUI charge. Failure to fight a DUI charge will result in conviction, which, in turn, can result in significant fines, jail time and having your license suspended for much more than 90 days — especially if you’ve been convicted on a DUI or other alcohol-related traffic violation previously. First-time DUI convictions are punishable by up to $750 in fines and up to six months in the county jail. For additional convictions, the penalties get staggeringly worse.
The Wyoming criminal defense and DUI attorneys at Stinson Law Group can help you fight an administrative suspension of your license and help you build a case to fight a DUI charge. If you’ve been charged with DUI, call Stinson Law Group as soon as possible so we can help prevent suspension of your license. Often we can use information gained while contesting the suspension to help avoid a conviction on DUI charges. Call the Cody, WY criminal defense and DUI lawyers at Stinson Law Group toll free today for a free consultation: (888) 527-6090.